Now, we are breaking up

It’s been a while. We parted ways what seems forever ago. Ever since that day, I have still seen you. I have passed you 100 times and have seen you in my dreams since. I have continuously asked myself what makes this different? Different faces, different times, different feelings. I have always been one to let go easy. Somehow the short season you were around, you have latched to my heartstrings. You tug on them every so often. It makes me feel like you are still here. The last time we spoke, I knew the end lingered. I always knew our fate will grow cold. I wasn’t going to fight you on it. I began to read old texts, your smile engraved in my memory. You didn’t smile much, when you did my world lit up. You didn’t admit much, when you told me to stay around longer, my heart had grown fonder. In our time, you felt like someone I knew from a different life. A person that I needed. A person I longed for. We had our own language, and we knew the past we had. I kept you safe, while you kept me wild.

My heart remembers you as the one who got away. For once, when I think of someone from a previous chapter I smile. There was no hurt, no pain, just honesty and precautions. I may not know who you are now or what you have been up to, but I do hope this finds you and you are well. The weather is nice today, made me think of you. I hope you are reading well, and you are still working to retire soon. May we meet again in another life.

Nicole Smith

06/19/2022

3:24pm


Posted

in

, , , , ,

by

Comments

Leave a comment