Middle of the Night

I couldn’t sleep so you told me to get dressed. In a t-shirt and shorts you wait for me. Your hand was placed on my thigh as we were taking a late night drive downtown. I played a random playlist of mine from Spotify. The window down and Harry was on. With your hand on my thigh, I wrap my arms around your arm and hold onto you tightly. You kiss my forehead at the red light and ask if I was okay. I smile and hold you even tighter. My eye sight goes in and out as I watch the street lights and cars that pass. In this moment all I can think about is you being the best thing to happen to me. I look out of my window, wondering how did all of this come about and happened so suddenly. My life was an everyday routine with energy drinks and work. You found me and now you call me yours. I am not sure how long this will all last but what I do know is that I truly adore and want you.

I am not sure how long we have been driving but I feel myself become lighter. My grip loosen on your arm. I can still feel your touch. The music becomes faint and I began to believe I am dreaming. I feel at peace knowing my head is on your shoulder and you are close by. I whisper your name in my sleep and you answer. I open my eyes to a stop in a park. You place your jacket on my legs and wrap me in your scent. Your arm around me I can see the stars out of your truck window. The music is lower and I can hear the crickets in melody with the current song. You brush my hair behind my ear and hold me. I feel your eyes on me and I hear you whisper words from my favorite book. You read to me softly and let me fall asleep. I don’t want this night to end.

Somehow i wake up to bright lights and we are home. You slowly walk us back to our bed and tuck me in. I smile as my head lays on my pillow. I giggle and tell you to hold me. You pull me in closer and I feel your breath on my back. You kiss my shoulder. I fall asleep to words from Charlie and I fell asleep wondering if this was the moment where we were infinite.

Nicole Smith

10:16pm

07/30/2021


Posted

in

, , , ,

by

Comments

Leave a comment